your heart can sing

So, this is my first (maybe only) winter in Utah. Salt Lake City, to be exact. I have been hoping, praying, and begging for snow for sometime now. Being Alaskan, I expect snow before Halloween. It always happens in Fairbanks, without a doubt. We got a tease snowfall in mid October, and then it warmed back up to the high 60s. Today, FINALLY, November 5th we have snow I think will stay for good. Last night while watching the election coverage, a roommate glanced out the window and remarked that there was snow on the ground. Half an hour later, Barack Obama was announced President-Elect of the United States. I woke up this morning, and feel so at peace and more okay with everything than I ever have before. I know there are a lot of people out there who think Barack Obama is the wrong person for the job as President of our country, but I think that if we can get over the differences, get over everything that divides our country, we can pull together and help him lead us back into the right direction. We’ve got a long road ahead, and I feel like now I can see the light at the end of it.

Basically: I am a sublimely happy being today, thanks to snow and Barack Obama. YAY!

The snow is making me want to knit every winter clothing item for myself. Which is not a bad thing, I am doing pretty well with the Christmas knitting, being I am pretty well on track with it. I also have been actually WEARING one of my knitted creations, which is a new thing for me. Last winter I was in rainy Norcal (humboldt!) and so although I was becoming the knitter extraordinaire I now claim to be..I couldn’t/didn’t ever wear any of it, haha. But I made a little scarflet thing last weekend, and had claimed it to be a gift for a friend..I am thinking of throwing that out the window and keeping it for myself. I freaking LOVE this thing! I only have one scarf here with me, and its kind of bulky and I just haven’t been wearing it, but I’ve know worn my scarflet thing two days in a row. I have like half a skein of Malabrigo laying around, in a color very appropriate for the friend I had intended the scarflet for. So maybe she’ll get one anyways!

100_8581

Pattern: Fourteen by Yarn Ball Boogie

Yarn: Misti Alpaca Chunky, colorway 701 (I think.)

Needles: US10 Circ.

Ravelry link: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/Malroy/fourteen

Buttons: Joann’s in Sugarhouse in SLC.

I hope everybody else is having such a great post-election wednesday as I am. I keep meaning to write in this thing more, but God knows 95% of the time I don’t have anything constructive to say, and if I do..I can’t word it properly. Ahhh, gotta love my jumbled brain.

Leave a Reply

