As promised, FO pictures!

Ahhh, finishing something is pretty much one of my favorite feelings.

dscn0269Pattern: Celtic Cable Neckwarmer

Yarn: Mirasol Yarns “Miski” colorway 101 (I used just a tiny bit over one skein. The second skein was used for 10-15 rows.)

Needles: US 8

Ravelry Link

The only thing I changed about this pattern was that I didn’t slip the edge stitches..due to confusion of reading charts. I’ve never read a chart in flat knitting, and was under the impression that you read all the rows R-L, but apparently you read the WS rows L-R. Didn’t figure that one out until I was on the button band, haha. I also added an extra two rows to the button band, just to give it a teeny bit more length. I am very, very pleased with how this turned out. I was hesitant to use the Miski yarn as it is 100% baby llama, and thus very fuzzy. I was worried it wouldn’t have very good stitch definition, but I saw someone else used this yarn for it on Ravelry and really liked how theirs turned out so I ventured in. The entire thing is 21 inches long.

I also got around to blocking the Lace Ribbon Scarf tonight as well! The neckwarmer needed blocking so that urged me to go to the store and buy a spray bottle, haha. I had originally planned on blocking it on my bed, and then I realized that that would involve getting my bed wet, and why would I want to do that because I had no idea how long it’d take to dry..I really don’t know what I was thinking. ANYWAYS, I ended up blocking both items on my floor. The scarf is still drying (it seemed pretty dry but I decided to give it round two of sprays, just for good measure.) but here’s a picture of it on my bed. It is definitely as long as my twin bed.

dscn0247

In that photo you can also see my Noro Striped Scarf. Which will hopefully be done soon. Like I said previously, I’m still angry at the Vinnland socks so hopefully I can focus on that scarf and get it finished. I’d love to wear it! The picture in this photo is pretty accurate near the bottom. Hopefully tomorrow I can get some good pictures of it in action!

I did end up getting around to my brownies tonight, I just made the One Bowl Brownies on the back of the Baker’s Unsweetened Chocolate box. Nothing special, they are going to be used for brownie sundaes after dinner tomorrow night. I did probably one of the dumbest things I’ve ever done baking when I started the first batch though! The recipe called for four squares of the unsweetened chocolate and 3/4 cup of butter, which is 1 1/2 sticks. You throw it all in a bowl in the microwave to melt it all down and then add all the other ingredients. Easy as pie. Seriously. Me, however, being a doofus somehow decided that 1 1/2 sticks of butter translates into 2 1/2 sticks of butter. WTF. I put it in the microwave as specified and take it out and start stirring it to get the rest of the chocolate to melt down and it looks REALLY buttery. Read the recipe..Uhmm yeah. I’m a little air-brained sometimes. That baking mistake goes on the list just below when I tried to put over a cup of vanilla into something. I started asking my mom if we had more vanilla (we had like, half a bottle and that apparently wasn’t a cup) and she is like, “We have TONS of vanilla, let me look at that recipe!” Thank goodness she stopped me, hah. The time my sisters used powdered sugar instead of flour in a batch of cookies still takes the cake though. No pun intended!

My main goal for tomorrow is to get my butt to the library. The library here at the University Of Utah is ENORMOUS and beautiful. I never went once last semester and this semester I have a class in there, and so I discovered how awesome it is. Last weekend I went down there on Sunday and spent an hour doing reading for class and I’d like to make that a habit. It is relaxing, quiet and I can focus. And walking down and back is good exercise. It probably takes me at least 15-20 minutes to get there..This campus is pretty spread out.

One response to “As promised, FO pictures!

  1. Pingback: 2009, 2010. « First One On The Blog

Leave a Reply

