Mittens for Kiddos.

I was asked to (and given yarn for) knit mittens for a good family friend’s kids. Her kiddos are 5 and 8. She’s more of an aunt, really. So her kids could counts as my cousins. Not that I need anymore, I have 9 blood related ones. But two more don’t hurt:) ANYWAYS!

First off are mittens for her 5 year old, Makenna. She picked out this awesome Pink Debbie Bliss Donegal Luxury Tweed Aran. It is AWESOME yarn. Knits up super soft, and I like the color!

I used this pattern. I thought the lengths seemed really extreme for a 5 year old..And then I managed to make my mittens two different lengths..in the body and in the thumb:(

I was super worried they wouldn’t fit..And the bigger one fits perfectly. But the small one fits too, I blocked it out a little so we’ll see how it fits when she tries them on again.

Here are the second pair, which I just finished a little while ago.  Red mittens knit out of Lamb’s Pride Worsted for Creighton, the 8 year old. This time around I followed the pattern length requirements and they fit him perfectly..However, once again, I managed to not make a matching pair. This time was the thumbs. I felt like they were going to be the same, but then they ended up being different anyways.

I really like how tight of a gauge this pattern is knitted at, because then the mittens will be very warm and toasty.

Stats:

Basic Cuff Up Mittens

Debbie Bliss Donegal Luxury Tweed Aran colorway 360021 one skein, and Lamb’s Pride Worsted Colorway Cranberry Swirl, one skein. (I had a lot left over of the lamb’s pride, and not a lot of the debbie bliss.)

Knit on US4 for cuff and US6 for body.

No mods.

Ravelry Links: Pink Mittens Red Mittens

One response to “Mittens for Kiddos.

  1. Pingback: 2010 Knitting Wrap up. « Buttercup Knits

Leave a Reply

