My Dad’s A Square.

Okay, I had to. My dad’s not really a square. BUT, I did knit my dad the Turn A Square Hat by Jared Flood.

DSCN2515
Here I am wearing it. The colors are very perfect for him, green is his favorite and green and gray are his company colors! I also love the color combo, a lot. I tried to do the jogless stripes and tried two different techniques. I was not pleased with either. Although I liked Jared Flood’s technique better than the slipped stitch technique. It probably would’ve blocked out some, but I didn’t block it hah.

DSCN2522
Here is the square in the decreases. You can see the sad attempt at jogless stripes. He (jared flood) noted in the pattern that once you begin the decreases you no longer need to worry about doing the jogless stripes technique, and I totally disagree. I wish there was a way to do perfect jogless stripes in the round. Oh well. My dad seemed pretty pleased with the hat.

Here he is!:)

Here are some states:

Pattern: Turn A Square Hat by Jared Flood
Yarn: Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Frost Gray and Verde Esperanza
Needles: US5 for the brim and US7 for the body.
Mods: Played around with the jogless striping. I also knit until more like 6″ from the cast on edge rather than 5. My dad has a big head, and I wanted it to cover his ears.

One response to “My Dad’s A Square.

  1. Pingback: 2010 Knitting Wrap up. « Buttercup Knits

Leave a Reply

