Thrummed mittens!

Thrumming is a technique I had wanted to try for a long time. A few years ago, I tried. But I had bought raw silk instead of raw wool…and nobody told me how HARD working with raw silk is. If you are unaware, it is seriously hard for people who have little to no experience with fiber! Anyways. A while ago I ended up buying a thrummed mitten kit (Fleece Artist) off ebay. Around the same time, I bought a skein of Malabrigo Worsted (in Polar Morn). Not sure what to do with the malabrigo, both items lingered in my stash for a while..Until I was perusing etsy and found a listing for 2oz of merino roving (top? i dunno the correct lingo) in a colorway called “cotton candy”. And then I made these adorable, girly thrummed mittens:)

DSCN2853

The mitten on the right was knit first. You can see how my thrums got much prettier on the second mitten. I also messed up the second mitten because I knit three plain rounds in between thrum rounds, not four. I compensated for length, but I didn’t notice it until I went to do the decreases. And I am/was/did not ripping out an entire thrummed mitten.

DSCN2854

Again, note the difference.

DSCN2856
I love them though. I’ve been wearing them at work, out on the playground in temps around 15 above F. And No cold hands here:)

Stats:
Pattern: from the Yarn Harlot.
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted in Polar Morn
Fiber: Merino Roving (or whatever) in Cotton Candy from CraftyQsPlace on Etsy
Needles: US6 all the way!
Mods: just the mistakes noted above!

2 responses to “Thrummed mittens!

  1. As always – marvelous! You are amazing…..

    L – N

  2. Pingback: 2010 Knitting Wrap up. « Buttercup Knits

Leave a Reply

