Its Boxing Day!

That means I can finally post about my Christmas knitting. I meant to write a post yesterday, or write one that would publish yesterday, but I forgot. I had a really great Christmas, and I hope everyone else did too!

I knit 4 pairs of socks, 3 hats, and a scarf (for a 6 year old, so pretty short) start Nov 9th, and I was finished on Dec 19th. It was insane, I turned into a knitting machine. Although honestly, the last sock lingered on the needles for a bit, since I knew I was close to finishing so I didn’t have to worry!

Here are the socks. All knit out of Plymouth Superwash Merino Worsted, which is a really awesome affordable, superwash worsted yarn that comes in lovely colors and is nice and soft. I know a pair for all thre of my aunts who live in Fairbanks, and my grandma who lives here as well. I just did a generic sock pattern, Cast on 44 sts and did a slip stitch heel flap.


This pair is a lovely heathered dark blue. I think these ones went to my grandma..


This pair went to my Aunt Cyndie


This pair went to my Aunt Jill


And the last pair went to my Aunt Nancy!

Everyone seemed thrilled with their socks. I had knit for my mom for her birthday (September) and for Mother’s Day, so she didn’t get anything knitted, and I had knit for my dad earlier this fall, so same deal for him. I knit hats for my siblings, because that is what they all wanted!

My sisters requested “huge hats” so I knit them some slouchy hats, knit out of Malabrigo Chunky. I used this pattern. I wish they had turned out a bit slouchier, but I was worried about running out of yarn.

I let them pick which color they wanted.

I also knit a hat for my little brother..I had knit him a really boring ribbed beanie this fall, because that was what he requested for his bday (May) and I didn’t get around to it until it got cold. And I just realized I never blogged about it. Anyway. Then I knit Bret a Botanic Hat and Trevor said if he had known I could make him a hat like that he would have wanted one…But I tried to get him to look at patterns and he was not interested in doing so. So I knit him a boring one…But he got a new hat for christmas.

Knit out of Malabrigo Worsted!

And last but not least, I knit Bret’s niece, Hannah, a scarf. She is 6, almost 7, so you can see why she might love it…

Everyone seemed to enjoy their gifts, and I was glad to have everything finished before Christmas! Now next year all I want to do is stockings for Bret and I, and ornaments!

2 responses to “Its Boxing Day!

  1. The gifts were AWESOME and I’m loving my socks! Thanks for sharing your amazing talents and love with all of us.

    Love,
    Aunt N

  2. Pingback: 2010 Knitting Wrap up. « Buttercup Knits

Leave a Reply

