FO: Bret’s Crimson Tide Socks

So, a while ago I found out that a yarn store in Tuscaloosa, called Serendipity Needleworks had a custom colorway from Lorna’s Laces called Crimson Pride. I tried to go to the store when I was in Alabama in Oct/Nov of 2009, but it was closed on the day we were in Tuscaloosa..And I’ve always told Bret I would knit him something out of the colorway, since he is probably the hugest University of Alabama fan ever. Well, I was randomly looking up the yarn on Ravelry to see if anybody was destashing it, and it just so happened somebody was destashing 2 skeins in sport:) As Bret would put it, why anyone would get rid of such beautiful yarn, no one knows…haha. He’s a dork!

ANYWAYS. So I knit him some socks! First time knitting man socks and first time successfully doing toe up! I wanted to do them toe up so I could make sure I wouldn’t run out of yarn (Not sure how much yarn I would need for man socks!) and so I could test the fit as I went along. Needlessly to say, they fit perfectly!

DSCN3405

DSCN3412

Stats:
Pattern: improvised, I suppose. Loosely followed this one: Car Socks
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Sheperd Sport ‘Crimson Pride’
Needles: 3.0mm Circs

Ravelry Link

DSCN3408

One response to “FO: Bret’s Crimson Tide Socks

  1. Pingback: 2011 Knitting Wrap Up. « Buttercup Knits

Leave a Reply

