2012 Tour De Cure

Folks, I again am riding in the Tour De Cure this coming summer to help fight Diabetes.

So I’m gonna blab about it here. Diabetes is a HUGE deal to me. As a lot of you may know, Bret, my boyfriend, has type 1 Diabetes. He has had it since he was 17, and this fall he will be turning 25. It is a daily battle for him, and a daily worry for me.

Here we are at last year’s Tour

Last year Team DiaBretic was the top fundraising team, with over $4,000 raised!! Another reason I ride is because not only does Bret have Type 1, but Type 2 runs in my family. I ride to stay healthy, and to encourage my family members to stay healthy as well.

There are a couple upcoming events that will support my ride, and give you the opportunity to sign up to ride with me!

On March 25th, here in Fairbanks we are having a Kick off Party! There will be live music, snacks, door prizes, and a discounted sign up fee!!! I will be there, so please stop by and say hi! Click through the image to head over to the Facebook event page for more information!!

On Friday, April 13th, the Fairbanks Chapter of the ADA is hosting a viewing of Adventures For the Cure, a documentary about 3 men who biked on fixed gear bikes, to raise money and support for this disease. One of the riders was a type 1 Diabetic himself. 

Click through the image to the Facebook Event Page for more information! Again, I will be there and you can sign up at the showing!!! I may also be selling baked good there, with proceeds going to our ride:)

I really hope you will consider joining our team and riding with us, or donating to my ride. This cause is very, very important to me and I truly believe every donation helps. The Tour De Cure this year in Fairbanks is on June 9th, and there are four different route lengths. We will start and end at Musher’s Hall on Farmer’s Loop and lunch will be provided at the finish!

If you’d like to donate to my ride please click here:

If you’d like to join Team DiaBretic please click here:

If you have any questions please feel free to ask!! Thank you so much for your support

Leave a Reply

