Hippie Hat for Sarena

Sarena requested a hat. She offered to buy the yarn and have it mailed to me (she is in Anchorage). I walked her through the online yarn shopping and at one point she proclaimed “this is fun!!!”

I seriously need to teach that girl how to knit! Anyways. I picked out a pattern, she approved it, and I got to knitting. I don’t have any great photos of the hat because I gave it to her and took some iPhone photos and that is all! That’s alright though, cause it looks great on her!

Sarena's hippie hat

This pattern is a little bit of a pain in the ass. First, you have to work it backwards, so what you are seeing is technically the wrong side of the hat, which mean I had to purl the entire thing. Second, the star stitch pattern does not have a lot of give. If I do it again, I’d cast on at least one more repeat of the pattern, if not two. As you can see in the photo, I did stockinette at the top..This was not my original intention, but the stars don’t line up right if you decrease in the pattern, so I decided to go with stockinette and I am happy I did, it is a much cleaner look, I think. And the pompom is there simply because Sarena requested it!

sarena's hippie hat

Stats:
Pattern: Holding Hands, Feeding Ducks Hat
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted in Malambo, 1 skein
Needle: US 6 for the ribbing, US 8 for the body
Mods: I used a lighter weight yarn and accidentally did a purl row in between the ribbing and the pattern, but I really like the way it looks.

One response to “Hippie Hat for Sarena

  1. Pingback: Woah! 2012 Knitting Wrap Up « Buttercup Knits

Leave a Reply

