How to keep your head on straight

Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. Well, I think all the time. Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about being a rational, reasonable, composed person. Anyone who knows me knows that I generally err on the side of caution and usually think things through before I do them. They also know that I am frequently irrational and tend to be an all or nothing kinda gal. I have a really hard time finding a middle ground between completely loving something or completely hating it.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been giving myself some personal quests. Personal quests of betterment, if you will. The first is a quest for self esteem! So far, it has gone fairly well. I’ve also been trying to be a better student (which right now is not working as I am writing this post to avoid homework!) and a more motivated person in general. This has not been quite as easy as increasing my self esteem – as you can imagine, doing homework and schoolwork is not always fun and laying on the couch instead of being productive is very easy.

Throughout all of this, however, I keep finding myself thinking about my tendencies to get a little crazy. I fall into something, and I fall hard. It is all I want to do and all I think about. I think a lot of this comes from (and results in) my shitty time management skills. I have not been knitting because of an injury, and easing myself back into knitting has proved really hard. Knitting for a 2-3 hour stretch? Easy peasy. Knitting for 5 minutes an hour every evening? Impossible to “find the time for” even though all I’ve been doing is sitting on the couch. I’ve found a similar thing happens with sewing. I get really motivated, buy fabric and patterns, and then let it all languish because I can’t find the time to sit down and work on a single project for hours. Instead of working on it bit by bit I want to binge and finish it all in a Saturday afternoon/evening.

So I’ve been trying to decide how to keep my head on straight. How do I stay rational, find a middle ground and divide my time among work, school, and hobbies? The older I get (at the ripe old age of 25!) the more I wish I had better time management skills; the more I wish I could keep my head on straight and focus on one task at a time, instead of trying to do 3 or 4 things at once, getting overwhelmed, and becoming a slug on the couch.

I’ve been trying to set myself time limits (complete with a timer on my phone) for tasks like knitting, homework (depending on what I need to get done) or cleaning. So far this has proved semi-successful as long as I can stay focused on the task at hand.

What do you do to keep your head on straight? What keeps you grounded and focused?

20131015-223115.jpg
Leaves in our yard that had frosted the night before and thawed during the day. Fall in Fairbanks.

Leave a Reply

